19 July 2010

Review: SINGLE IN THE CITY by Michele Gorman ****

It’s official. Hannah has left her friends and family in the US behind and is following her dream. To live in London. Unfortunately she's completely unprepared for what's in store. She’s going to find:
1. Her dream guy. A prince or Hugh Grant would be nice. Or does she have to settle for her half-naked Australian housemate or an "English gentleman" with terrible hygiene habits?
2. Her dream job. Something fantastic in fashion. So how has she ended up being the mini-me for an evil party planner who doesn’t even trust her to arrange the paperclips?
3. Her dream friends. But everyone in London seems to have known each other for years and Hannah’s having trouble getting to know nice people. Who’s she going to have fun with?
Dream life? Should Hannah just dream on? Maybe it would have been simpler and cheaper to just get a new haircut. Was she mad to move 3,000 miles away from everyone she knows? Will she ever find love and her perfect life in England?
I've been looking forward to reading this book for months - a book about a twenty-something moving to London (♥) with a gorgeous cover? It was just screaming my name and I had to pick it up asap. ;)

I expected the book to be funny based on Michele's awesome tweets, but I was in no way prepared for the hilarity that ensued - the book literary had me in stitches! To get a quick taste of what I'm talking about, click here to read the first few pages! :)

The plot wasn't exactly gripping - it's just the story of a twenty-something American expat who moves to London more or less on a whim and tries to make a fresh start and so we follow her on her journey as she searches for a new flat, a new job, makes new friends and hooks up with several (interesting) guys in the process.

It's a simple story really, nothing particularly ground breaking, but what *makes* this book is Hannah, the narrator herself. We follow the story from her point of view and she's just an awesome chick! Her thoughts are all over the place and she gets herself in the most embarrassing and hilarious situations, backed up with fantastic commentary. I absolutely adored her and you could hardly wish for a better narrator in a romcom! The supporting characters are fab too - Stacey and Chloe and Sam and the flatmates etc., and even the less positive characters were a lovely addition to the story.

All in all, this was a fantastic debut and a lovely light read - perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella or Jenny Colgan! I have to say the book was even better than I expected and I cannot wait to read more by Ms Gorman! I do hope she has a sequel in store - she damn well should as our Hannah is obviously embarking on another massive adventure and I wonder what happens next!

overall rating:
plot: 4/5 | writing: 5/5 | characters: 5/5 | cover: 5/5

10 comments:

Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com said...

What a delightful cover!

Claire xx said...

I love the sound of this one - added to the wishlist!!!
xx

P said...

I've really been looking forward to reading this book, so glad it's as good as I built it up to be in my head. Great review!

Dot said...

Good to hear that you enjoyed this, I keep looking at it in the shops! Great review!

Stella (Ex Libris) said...

Thanks for drawing my attention to this book, it looks lovely! I fell in love with the amazing cover (love at first glimpse I tell you!), and it sounds great! The basic premise alone -single girl in her 20s moving to London - would make me want to read it, but you saying it was hilarious, I can't wait to get my hands ona copy and read it! :-)

Thanks for another great recommendation :-)

Alicia said...

Sounds like a fun book! Love the cover :)

miss cindy :) said...

Sounds like a really fun book to read and I agree, love the cover! GReat review :)

Josh Healy said...

Hi, hope it's OK to contact you here. We would love to include your blog on our giveaway search engine: Giveaway Scout (http://www.giveawayscout.com). Have a look and if interested, use our online form to add your blog (http://www.giveawayscout.com/addblog/ ). thanks, Josh

Anonymous said...

One of the most boring books that I've ever read . And Hannah makes it so boring. She has no interests, exept clothes, she doesn't do any sports, she doesn't read anything apart from magasines, she's obviously bad at doing her job (she was about to be hired twice), I have no idea how she was so popular among men being so plain as a person...

Michele Gorman said...

Thank you Anonymous, for your comment here as well as on chicklitreviews. I'm glad to see that you didn't personally insult me here, as you did there, and again, I thank you for taking the time to read the book.
Sincerely
Michele

Post a Comment